F is for Friends Who Do Stuff Together

At almost 21 years of age, one of the most important lessons I have learned is that the quality of friendships is more valuable than the number of friendships you have.

For as long as I can remember, my older sister, Liz, has been a consistent friend I can count on to laugh and share serious moments with. Unlike typical sisters, we don’t often fight, and if we do, it can usually be solved swiftly by being fed. Our age difference never really kept us from bonding. She took me to all her own events when she was in high school, and included me in most of the things she did with her friends. My sister also took me to my first concert when I was in middle school and she was about to graduate high school. Over the years, we have continued to grow closer, and she has become one of my closest friends.

Almost two years ago, I started working with her, and met our old coworker and friend, Kim. They already had a friendship, and since Liz and I are so similar, Kim and I quickly became friends, even though she thought I didn’t like here when I worked with just her for the first time. About a week after I met Kim, I had already nicknamed her Grams. She’s officially part of the family, and she fits right in with us. She also looks great for being a grandmother, and I am still waiting on for one of kids to claim me as their child.

They are now two of my best friends. We worked together almost everyday. The three of us always had fun together, despite being at work. Days when we didn’t work together were filled with texts complaining about how much better work would be if we were all there. In June, 5 months after I started working we them, we had our first time outside of work to hang out. Dinner was the obvious choice to grow our relationship. We have continued this trend, and try to keep have our nights out together at least once a month.

I think for all of us, we love having time where we can just eat, talk and spend time with people we love. Our monthly “Shebas” take place at our homes, restaurants, Target, or wherever we feel like. We never have to find conversation topics to fill silence, because the only silence there has ever been is when we get our food. If it weren’t for their kids and husbands, we would probably spend hours each day together. Shebas have gotten to the point where by the time it’s time for them to get home, I want to suggest that we all just move into one big house so we could talk to each other all the time. Sadly, we don’t live together, but I can always count on one of them to start a conversation over text at some point in the day, and it usually lasts forever.

I personally love that we can be real with each other, and we can say, or eat, whatever we feel like, without fear of judgement or losing friends. I never think twice about telling them what I’ve been struggling with. The openness we have allows us to gush about tv shows or Christmas, and tell each other anything. My friends are always there for me to talk to, and I will always be there for them.

One thing about my friends that stands out about Liz and Kim is that they will never let the others try to flake out or leave our group. It’s kind of like that crazy girlfriend meme, where they get crazy eyes, and say things like “you’re stuck with me now” or “you can never leave me because I’ll hunt you down.” Normally, this might freak a person out, but somehow it gives me comfort in knowing that I will be friends with them for the rest of our lives. Their craziness matches my craziness, and we all hold each other accountable to staying grounded.

Our friendship has set a standard for me to hold to as I get older. I want to look for friends who are there to help me make decisions or celebrate good things in life, and who will look out for me. They have shown me that there are people who are willing to do more than just talk occasionally, but invest in my life and remember things about me that acquaintances would forget. Liz has an advantange since she’s known me since birth, but Kim has done an awesome job catching up on my life. I love that they care to know about me. Friendships can only grow when there is a mutual love for each other, and I know that these friends have shown me love. My life would be completely different if they were not in my life.

Leave a Reply

